Tryouts for the 2019-20 Team

The Queen's Sailing Team annual tryouts will be August 29th and 30th 2019 at Kingston Yacht Club!

Fill this online form so we know you're coming.

15 April 2010

April 2010 Newsletter

Click to read the PDF
Click to read the PDF

Here’s a transcript of the April 2010 newsletter.

QST Singlehanders Sail Hard

The Queen’s Sailing team had a great set of single handed sailing efforts in the fall. First at North #2, the podiunn was owned by I®* place Evert McLaughlin and 3^^ place Matt Ryder. They combined for a total of eight bullets at the regatta in King’s Point, New York.

Next Evert and Matt represented Queen’s at the Carl Van Duyne Trophy, the MAISA Singlehanded championship, once again held at King’s Point. From this regatta Evert placed second and qualified for the Intercollegiate National Championship, held this year in Corpus Christi, Texas.

Out of a fleet of eighteen sailors, Evert claimed seven top-five finishes placing him in seventh place at the National championship. The team looks forward to next year’s Singlehanded season and hopes to build on the great success of Evert and Matt.

Message from the President

I would first like to start off by thanking all the sailors of the 2009-2010 Queen’s Sailing Team, without your dedication to the sport there would be not team. As we get ready to break for the summer I would like to acknowledge the efforts of our coach and QST alumni, Kate MacLennon, whose dedication to bettering the team this past year will be missed as she moves on. In addition, I would like to thank everyone who has worked so tirelessly towards building a solid foundation for the team to develop from as we enter a new decade. I am excited for the coming season and the challenges and competition it will bring. Stay in touch with the team through our website,

Alumni Regatta 2010

The 2010 Alumni Regatta returns in September! The regatta’s events will include barbeque, meet-and-greet with current sailing team members and most importantly racing! More details to follow, a formal notice of race will be posted on the Queen’s Sailing Team website,, by mid-August.

Keelboat Regattas

This past fall the team once again had the chance to attend two regattas at the United States Naval Academy; the Shields Trophy and the McMillan Cup. These regattas have recently become a highlight of QST’s racing season as they are raced with crews of 8 on Navy 44’s. The team struggled to keep up with the other competitors, who having trained regularly on these boats new all of their tricks. However, the Shields trophy ended on a high note, a top-half finish in the last race of the day. These regattas were a great opportunity for our sailors to experience a different style of competitive sailing. The crews improved greatly, both individually and as a team, over the course of the regattas as the “big-boat” routine became increasingly natural. The team came out of this experience in high spirits and hopes to form a dedicated keel boat crew and seek opportunities for this crew to train in preparation for these regattas in future seasons.


The team would first like to thank all the donors who contributed to the great fleet of 420s, that have now been sailed for the past two years. We are currently looking to acquire a set of regatta sails for our 420s. Another high priority for the team is a fund for travel to Championship regattas, they are frequently far from Kingston and alternate means of travel are needed.

Team Awards 2010

Finally the team would like to recognize its outstanding athletes and their contributions to sailing at Queen’s.

  • Most Valuable Sailor: Ethan Holtzer
  • Most Improved Sailor: Lauren Avery
  • Rookie of the Year: William Schwenger

The team would also like to thank the outgoing sailors of the Queen’s Sailing Team and wish them the best of luck in their future endeavours and to keep sailing!

Outgoing team members are London Gardner, Kash Gilbert, Lauren Harper, Ethan Holtzer, Allyson Hornby, Brian Larkin and past President Seth Whitmore.

The 2010 Sailing Team, Back Row; Nick Trottier, Seth Whitmore, Corbin Lott, Landon Gardner, Brian Larkin, Kris Little, Matt Sullivan, Omurden Ekim, Spencer Stubbins. Middle Row; Coach Kate MacLennan, Elizabeth Campbell, Lauren Avery, Ethan Holtzer, Matthew Reive, Josh Brown, Rachel Kim, Rachel Rock, Zoe Evans, Steph Alp. Front Row; Tyler Meyrick, Peter Soosalu, Heather Richardson, Kyra Mollinson, Katie Pedersen, Alex Erjavec and William Schwenger.